Ms. J's Exciting Learning Adventure

Using iPads & Innovating in lower elementary

It’s Always Better the Second Time Around

April22

“Step by step, day by day, a fresh start over, a different hand to play.  The deeper we fall, the stronger we stay.  And we’ll be better the second time around.” These are some of the lyrics from one of my favorite childhood sitcoms, “Step by Step”.

Wow...this is definitely a sitcom from the 90s!  Step by Step...

Wow…this is definitely a sitcom from the 90s! Step by Step…

However, this is not a post about the sitcom, but rather about my second time around; my second time teaching first and second grade at AASO.  The only difference is that we are now B class!!

Welcome to B Class!!

Welcome to B Class!!

So, what is it that I am doing differently this time???  First of all, we started the school year by emphasizing literacy and numeracy with the “Endless” series; specifically “Endless ABC” and “Endless 123”.

A student spelling the word "Rainstorm" using the Endless ABCs app.

A student spelling the word “Rainstorm” using the Endless ABC app.

What does the word "invention" mean?  This is another feature of the Endless ABCs app!

What does the word “invention” mean? This is another feature of the Endless ABC app!

Counting by 4s using the Endless 123 application.

Counting by 4s using the Endless 123 application.

Does adding 10 plus 5 equal 15?  Yet another feature of the Endless 123 app!

Does adding 10 plus 5 equal 15? Yet another feature of the Endless 123 app!

They really enjoyed it, and it was a good warm up for the rest of the year!  In addition, they got to work together, and the second grade students taught the first grade students not only how to use the applications, but also how to use the iPad.

How do you spell "Experiment"?  A first and a second grade student trying to figure it out together on Endless ABCs.

How do you spell “Experiment”? A first and a second grade student trying to figure it out together using Endless ABC.

A first and a second grade student counting the numbers using the Endless 123 application on their iPads.

A first and a second grade student counting the numbers using the Endless 123 application on their iPad.

For more information and reviews on the series, please go to: http://goo.gl/krMvCH (ABC) and http://goo.gl/5Bwb17 (numbers).

Nonetheless, my students are still requesting to use Skoolbo!  They love how interactive it is, as well as the rewards offered.  It is no coincidence, then, that it has taken off so well in Mexico!  This article explains how a school in Mexico is enjoying Skoolbo as well as reaping its benefits: http://blog.skoolbo.com/mexico-upap/. Perhaps we could also invite the Skoolbo developers to visit our school and develop a version specifically for Japanese children….

Another new thing in my class is that my students are sharing iPads, at least for this first trimester.  Initially, this was only because there were not enough iPads for everyone to have their own at school, but now I am considering sticking to this novel concept.  The experiment continues in my 2:1 classroom!  According to this article my digital humanities coach came across on twitter, http://goo.gl/bNX3ci, kindergarten students who shared iPads outperformed those who had their own iPads.  Could it be the increased collaboration, communication, and interaction?  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see!  They worked on Toontastic and Educreations together this week.:

This second grade student shared his Toontastic video on Google Plus.  He and his partner, a first grade student, practiced the "Do you like _______?" phrase.  They loved it!

This second grade student shared his Toontastic video on Google Plus. He and his partner, a first grade student, practiced the “Do you like _______?” phrase. They loved it!

Some students working on their Educreations assignment last Friday.  Someone likes "My Little Pony".

Some students working on their Educreations assignment last Friday. Someone likes “My Little Pony”.

This is a screen shot of a second grade student's work on Educreations.  He focused on the letter Rr and related words.  He did a great job!

This is a screen shot of a second grade student’s work on Educreations. He focused on the letter Rr and related words. He did a great job!

This is the first grade student's interpretation of a Q related word.  Since he cannot yet write a sentence, he just wrote the word "Quiet".

This is the first grade student’s interpretation of a Q related word.  Since he cannot yet write a sentence, he just wrote the word “Quiet”.

Two students, one in first grade and the other in second grade, write a sentence focusing on the letter Uu on Educreations.

Two students, one in first grade and the other in second grade, write a sentence focusing on the letter Uu on Educreations.

Working on a "P" word sentence using Educreations.  :).  "We are going to a party!".

Working on a “W” word sentence using Educreations. :). “We are going to a party!”.

Actually, if the second grade students had not worked with the first grade students, they would have been unable to do the tasks, especially as they cannot yet read or write in English independently.  Thus far, I am all for the idea, as who else to better teach students than their own peers?

Yet another thing I have integrated in my classroom are more Google Tools; from Google Classroom and Google Drive to YouTube.  You can learn more about these tools by following these links: http://goo.gl/MtYTC8 (Google Classroom) and http://goo.gl/PxSPj6 (Google Docs and Drive).  What exactly accelerated this process for me?  Well, I was asked to teach a sixth grade English literacy class, and since they are already using Google Classroom in most of their classes, I decided to follow suit.  I am really embracing this learning and teaching opportunity.  There are so many resources available to me, both among my fellow colleagues and on Twitter.  Up until now, I have incorporated React videos, such as this one on 90s music, http://goo.gl/11Ou88, and I am going to use this “I am Going to Like School” digital book this coming Friday:

"I am Going to Like School" by Howard Chan.  I love it!

“I am Going to Like School” by Howard Chan.  I love it!

http://store.blurb.com/ebooks/523694-i-am-going-to-like-school.  I only remembered that April was national poetry month by the posts on twitter, and so I am also going to use this book for my first and second grade students this week!

I came across the "I'm Going to Like School" e-book and other materials on Twitter.  I don't even have to search for ideas anymore!

I came across the “I am Going to Like School” e-book and other materials on Twitter.  I don’t even have to search for ideas anymore!

Twitter and Pinterest continue to be invaluable resources.  Just the other day, for instance, I came across this suggestion on Pinterest on thematic based learning: http://goo.gl/5rCBj4.  This article argues that young learners are more likely to learn and retain information if it is presented in a thematic unit, which is something that I want to do more of in the future.  Up to now I have attempted to integrate material from various sources into my lessons, but perhaps I need to narrow my focus more when teaching young learners.  I am eager to try!

And….finally…I used QR-codes this morning to orient my students on what they were supposed to do.  I have been stalling and putting it off, but it was really easy to record and make the video, http://goo.gl/BqWqs6, as well as to create the QR code using the https://www.the-qrcode-generator.com/ link.  I set up the classroom exactly how it was in the video this morning and played the video for my students.  While the video is not ever going to win an Oscar, some of my students–including those who were late, tired, or just confused since today was the first grade students’ first time ever to work on spelling words–played the video many times.  I think it definitely helped them!  Thank you to Mauri Dafour, for suggesting that teachers start small, https://leadingwithtechnology.wordpress.com/2014/10/13/start-small-to-grow-big/.  You are a genius!!!

Ready for the QR coded instructional video my students made.  YouTube and QR codes are great together!

Ready for the QR coded instructional video I made for my students.  YouTube and QR codes go great together!

Two students watching the video I made to orient them from the QR codes!  I think it helped them.

Two students watching the video I made to orient them and the QR codes! I think it helped them.

One of the things that struck me about the QR-coded morning routine and instructional video is that I did not have to stay with my students–and be repeating myself constantly–during first period English this morning.  As this page from “I am Going to Like School” shows,

I want to be more like a guide than a preacher.  I want to facilitate my students' learning, and not dictate it.

I want to be more like a guide than a preacher. I want to facilitate my students’ learning, and not dictate it.

, and that is what I hope to become more for my students.  After all, they need to learn to think critically; work collaboratively as well as independently; as well as to learn to problem solve.  I think that I need to let the reins go a little bit.  Besides, they like the interaction, even if it is just one way.  So….more QR-coded activities in class?  I really hope that I improve as a teacher and do things better this time around.  I know that I have to be patient both with myself as well as with my students, particularly since it is the beginning of the school year.  I was recently reminded that how I feel about my students and colleagues will be reflected  back at me through their behavior in this podcast: http://goo.gl/ouISMj.  And why not?  I need to remain positive so as to continue influencing those around me positively. :). Please join me in motivating each other!

 

by posted under Uncategorized | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar